d.light – Jun ’08

For the summer between my first and second years at Stanford, I worked for d.light designs (a solar lantern company founded by Stanford grads) outside of New Delhi, India.  The below picture was a fellow designer and I testing out a prototype we built for street vendors to have a light so they could sell produce at night.

The Delhi office opened the week before I arrived and I was charged with starting the India based design team.  This meant setting up relationships with individuals to test prototypes with and many late nights in rural farms talking to mayors of villages and drinking a lot of chai.

My favorite part of this experience was getting to spend time with users.

Categories: Work

Say Hi :)

